google-site-verification: googlee16c7726ecc34510.html

Growing Home & Trolley Trailer No. 610

Growing Home

Growing Home is a permanent exhibit about Aurora's history featuring Trolley Trailer No. 610, a fully-restored 1913 historic trolley trailer. The exhibit highlights people, places, and events from Aurora's history. It features over 100 historic photographs and objects, and the fully restored 1913 historic Trolley Trailer No. 610 in the new Ruth Fountain gallery. Go inside the trolley and experience 100 years of history first-hand.The exhibit was designed by Dennis Meyer of Filament Design/Build with support from museum staff.

In October 2012, the Aurora City Council approved funding for the construction of a new gallery and addition at the Aurora History Museum. Council resolved to name it in honor of Ruth Fountain, a former city councilwoman, community activist and museum supporter.

The Aurora Museum Foundation was instrumental in raising funds and in-kind donations through grants and support from local businesses, organizations and individuals. The 1,630 square foot gallery was completed in November 2014. The addition was designed by Humphries Poli Architects and built by Palace Construction.

AMF Logo Link to Palace ConstructionLink to RATIO Architects

Restoration of Trolley Trailer No. 610

Aurora Landmark #24

Trolley RestorationTrolley RestorationTrolley RestorationTrolley RestorationTrolley RestorationTrolley Restoration

The Aurora Museum Foundation, with help from sixteen devoted volunteers, spent four years restoring the trailer. Robert “Bob” Eide recruited and worked with Morey Miller & Cliff Lushbough to coordinate the project. The restoration took over 4,500 volunteer work hours. 

To learn more about Trolley Trailer No. 610 and the restoration process, visit the "Aurora History" page. If you want to see inside the trolley visit our "Historic Sites" page. 

Trolley Restoration Volunteers:

Robert "Bob" Eide
Cliff Lushbough
Morey Miller
Ruth Fountain
Jerry Brooks
Don Cosby
Hal Dunning
Gordon Heil
Don LeFurge
Don Meyer
Sue Miller
Marie Rottler
John Rottler
Dennis Scheel
Don Westlake
Gary Wolf

Thank you to the following:

Anderson Demolition
Aurora City Council
Aurora Historical Society
Aurora Museum Foundation
Aurora Police Department
Aurora Public Works Department
Aurora Streets Department
Denver Tramway Heritage Society
Duffy Crane Company
Gates Family Foundation
Humphries Poli Architects
Palace Construction Company
Regional Transportation District (RTD)
S/D Enterprises
Spirit of Aurora
State Historical Fund
Weitz Construction Company
Wagner Equipment

City of Aurora | All Rights Reserved | Powered by CivicLive | © 2024 Civiclive.