google-site-verification: googlee16c7726ecc34510.html

City of Aurora Elections

Aurora is a home-rule municipality and is governed by a charter adopted by the voters. There are three classifications of election officials: an at-large mayor, four at-large council members, and six ward council members. Aurora's elections are non-partisan, where elected officials are elected to office without consideration of political party affiliation. 

Aurora participates in coordinated elections, an election that the county clerk and recorder conducts on behalf of two or more political subdivisions that are hosting an election on the same day in November and the eligible voters for each election are the same or the boundaries overlap. The City Clerk is the designated election official for Aurora and is responsible for the petition process, campaign finance requirements, certifying the ballot content, and all other requirements as outlined in the City Charter and City Code.

When are Regular Municipal Elections?

The first Tuesday of November in odd numbered years

Who participates in elections with Aurora?
The City of Aurora participates in Coordinated Elections with Arapahoe CountyAdams County, and Douglas County

How are Coordinated Elections conducted?
Coordinated Elections are conducted by mail ballot. Ballots are automatically mailed to all active registered electors.


2021 Regular Municipal Election

November 2, 2021


Aurora voters will elect City Council Members from Wards 1 through 3 and two At-Large in the upcoming election. The link below provides the list of candidates that will appear on the ballot and the contact information for their campaign committee.

Candidate List


Voter Service and Polling Centers

Voter Services and Polling Centers provide the following services:

  • Register to vote
  • Update your voter registration
  • Request a new or replacement ballot
  • Drop-off your voted mail ballot
  • Access to ADA accessible ballot marking device
Adams County

Arapahoe County

Douglas County

Ballot Drop Box Locations

Ballot Drop Boxes will be available 24 hours a day beginning Oct. 8, 2021, through 7 p.m. on Elections Day, Nov. 2, 2021.

Adams County

Arapahoe County

Douglas County

City of Aurora | All Rights Reserved | Powered by CivicLive | © 2021 Intrado Corporation.