google-site-verification: googlee16c7726ecc34510.html

Intergovernmental Relations

The Intergovernmental Relations division is located within the City Manager's Office and manages federal, state, and local governmental affairs. Policies passed at the federal and state level impact our communities, as well as how the city functions and provides services. The city seeks to foster and maintain relationships with local governments, elected officials, and associations representing local government interests. 

Liz Rogers
Intergovernmental Relations Manager 
Phone: 303.739.7051

Click on one of the the buttons below to learn more about the City of Aurora's priorities:

Federal Relations

Aurora closely monitors and advocates for federal legislation and funding opportunities that will impact Aurora. The city of Aurora is located in the 6th Congressional District, which is represented by U.S. Congressman Jason Crow and Colorado's two U.S. senators: Sen. Michael Bennet and Sen. John Hickenlooper.

View the City of Aurora's 2024 federal priorities.

State Relations

The General Assembly meets for 120 days each year during the legislative session. The Intergovernmental Relations Department tracks bills that impact the city and advocates for legislation per direction from City Council. During the rest of the year, the city works with the delegation to prepare legislation that will impact our community. The city of Aurora's legislative delegation consists of five members of the Senate and seven members of the House of Representatives. You can locate your specific legislator on the Colorado General Assembly website.

View the City of Aurora's 2024 state legislative priorities.

View the City of Aurora's legislative positions for the 2024 Colorado legislative session.

National Partnerships 

Aurora partners with national organizations to ensure its interests are represented at the Federal level. The city is a member of the following organizations:

National League of Cities
The National League of Cities is an advocacy organization in the United States that represents the country's 19,000 cities, towns and villages along with 49 state municipal leagues. Council Member Angela Lawson is a member of the Transportation and Infrastructure Services policy committee. 

United States Conference of Mayors
The United States Conference of Mayors is the official nonpartisan organization of cities with populations of 30,000 or more and is represented by Mayor Mike Coffman.

Regional Partnerships 

Aurora partners with other municipalities and regional organizations on issues that impact the entire region. city works with our neighbors through both official organizations and individually as projects and issues emerge.

Adams County
Adams County is part of the Denver-Aurora-Lakewood metropolitan statistical area. About 47,720 Aurora residents reside in Adams County.

Arapahoe County
Arapahoe County is the third-most populous county in Colorado with 336,035 Aurora residents residing in Arapahoe County. Arapahoe County is part of the Denver-Aurora-Lakewood metropolitan statistical area and Aurora is the largest city in the county. 

Aurora Chamber of Commerce 
The Aurora Chamber of Commerce is an action-oriented membership organization that serves as the leading business voice in the Eastern Metro area. 

Aurora Economic Development Council 
The Aurora Economic Development Council works to enhance the economic vitality of the City of Aurora, Adams County, and Arapahoe County in Colorado by recruiting, retaining, and growing primary employers. 

Buckley Space Force Base 
On June 4th, 2021 the Buckley Air Force Base located in Aurora was renamed Buckley Space Force Base. Buckley Space Force Base is home to the U.S. Air Force, U.S. Space Force, and Colorado Air National Guard. 

Colorado Municipal League
Founded in 1923, the Colorado Municipal League is a nonprofit, nonpartisan organization providing services and resources to assist municipal officials in managing their governments and serving the cities and towns of Colorado. Council Member Angela Lawson serves as the city of Aurora representative to the CML, serving on the Executive Board and on the Policy Committee. 

Denver Regional Council of Governments
The Denver Regional Council of Governments is a planning organization where local governments collaborate to establish guidelines, set policy and allocate funding in the areas of: Transportation and Personal Mobility, Growth and Development, and Aging and Disability Resources.

Douglas County
Douglas County is part of the Denver-Aurora-Lakewood metropolitan statistical area. It is located midway between Colorado's two largest cities, Denver and Colorado Springs, and contains a portion of Aurora. About 2,506 Aurora residents reside in Douglas County.

Metro Mayors Caucus
Founded in 1993, the Metro Mayors Caucus is a nationally recognized voluntary and collaborative membership organization for mayors in the Denver region. The Caucus is a unique forum that fosters personal relationships and uses dialogue to identify common purposes, challenges, and solutions that benefit both the region and member municipalities.

Federal, State & Intergovernmental Relations Committee

The role of the Federal, State & Intergovernmental Relations Committee (FSIR) is to serve as leaders and partners with other governments and jurisdictions. The committee meets to discuss how federal and state policies impact Aurora and to determine the city’s position on legislation.

Council Members on the 2024 FSIR Committee include:
Chair, Council Member Angela Lawson, at Large
Vice Chair, Council Member Danielle Jurinsky, at Large
Member, Council Member Curtis Gardner, at Large 

For more information about Intergovernmental Relations, contact 303.739.7051.

City of Aurora | All Rights Reserved | Powered by CivicLive | © 2024 Civiclive.