Obtaining a liquor license in the state of Colorado is a privilege, not a right. Liquor licensed locations are governed by city of Aurora code, Colorado state statutes and other rules and regulations.
In order to sell, serve or distribute liquor or 3.2 percent beer at retail at a given location, that location must be licensed by both the city of Aurora and the state of Colorado. A "person" (person defined as a sole proprietor, partnership, LLC, or corporation) desiring to sell alcoholic beverages must first file an application and obtain approval of that application from the Local Licensing Authority. The application and approval process is lengthy and detailed. If the Local Licensing Authority approves the application, it is forwarded to the state licensing authority who may then grant a state license.
The Local Licensing Authority will conduct a public hearing at which time the applicant and/or his or her representative and any witnesses and/or protesters may appear. At this hearing, the applicant must present sufficient evidence to establish that 1) there is a need in the neighborhood for the type of license being applied for, and 2) the adult inhabitants of the neighborhood desire that the license be granted.
All liquor and 3.2 percent beer licenses are issued to: 1) a person, and 2) a "premises" (premises is defined as a specific location and/or address). The premises must also be approved for liquor consumption and/or sales.